IGNORED

Cee Bailey Windshield

Rotor

Brand new to the site; forgive me if I ask for previously discussed information as I'm still learning my way around.

Was riding last week and got caught in the rain on my 05 R12RT. I wear an open face helmet and if felt as though I didn't have a windshield at all. The rain stung like crazy on my face. I adjusted the shield and even the speed to no avail and used my hand to try and isolate where it was coming from - never did figure it out. I owned an 1150 RT and never had this problem. Said that to say this; has anyone had any experience with the Cee Bailey's Windshield? If so, would you elaborate? How is protection, wind buffet, sound, did it alter bike performance/handling and not least of all the rain? Would anyone recommend another brand over the Cee Bailey's? Thanks in advance.

Rotor confused.gif

Cee Bailey makes a quality product - my last bike was an Adventure and I had a CB screen - it was great. I'mm looking at the ZTechnic Vstream for my R12RT - I've heard good feedback on it.

I have a +1h +3w Cee Bailey on an 06 RT. The screen is very good quality but the situation you describe does not go away with the addition of this windshield. I found by experimenting with my hand that the rain you're speaking of is coming up behind the screen. I too ride sometimes without a face shield and this prompted me to pursue the problem. You'll also find that you can get bug splatters on the inside as well from the same phenomenon. I don't have a fix for you but I have toyed with the idea of fabricating a lip from some appropriate sized weatherstripping or installing some kind of brush to provide a water seal. You may have seen these brushes used at times around wheel openings to contain the spray produced by the rear tires on large trucks. This would be a particularly nice option since the bristles would bend to accomodate various screen positions. Good luck.

Al,