IGNORED

Dry clutch technique

MarcS

Hey folks,

So, I'm new to the big-bore twin, boxer, and dry clutch world. I'm used to revvy Japanese sportbikes with wet clutches that'll slip all day.

Anyway, I'd appreciate some posts on good/proper clutch technique. I'm finding the GS a handful to get moving without a lot of slipping.

Now that ya mention it, Marc, I'd like to add another piece to this question--and I hope the more mechanically inclined among us will forgive my noobish ignorance when it comes to stuff like this, but let me see if I got this clear. It's considered a "dry clutch" because it sits separate from the main engine oil, yet it still is in all actuality "wet" since its lil ol home contains about half a quart of erl for lubrication anyway. Whadaheck? See, this is why I just can't wrench on my stuff--I get confused, befuddled, frustrated, p-o'd and then things get ugly... confused.gif

russell_bynum
Now that ya mention it, Marc, I'd like to add another piece to this question--and I hope the more mechanically inclined among us will forgive my noobish ignorance when it comes to stuff like this, but let me see if I got this clear. It's considered a "dry clutch" because it sits separate from the main engine oil, yet it still is in all actuality "wet" since its lil ol home contains about half a quart of erl for lubrication anyway. Whadaheck? See, this is why I just can't wrench on my stuff--I get confused, befuddled, frustrated, p-o'd and then things get ugly... confused.gif

That's incorrect. The clutch on a boxer is "Dry". In other words, it does not have any lubricating oil.

Perhaps what you're thinking of...is the transmission and engine...which each have their own independant lubricating oil.

With a typical Japanese sportbike, the engine, clutch, and transmission all share the same oil.