IGNORED

bike got wet and quit !!

GT750

Hello, I am new to BMW and this board... My name is Allen and I live in Panama City Fl.. I have been doing Iron Butt rides on a 74 Suzuki GT750 two stroke and my wife finally talked me into getting a Beemer...She was tired of smelling like injector oil when we arrived somewhere... I recently picked up a 1996 R1100RT with 58K miles.. The bike has run great...But today it started to rain buckets..First time wet since I got it.. Within about one minute of that, the bike stumbled and shut down.. I coasted to the side and it would not restart... I had to get a ride home and get a trailer to bring it back... Since it has dried some it has restarted, but only for a few seconds and then shuts off again...The battery is new and has a full charge and I can hear the fuel pump cycle on when the key is switched on.. Does this sound familar to anyone?? Any help will be greatly appreciated..

Thanks again, and glad to be here..

Allen...Rideaholic

IBA21871

The age of your bike and symptoms of the failure point to an extremely high probability of a bad HES (Hall Effect Sensor) harness. It's common for the HES wiring harness insulation to fail over time due to being exposed to a very high level of heat, and when it does the symptoms are exactly as you describe. There are several ways to go at the repair, you can simply replace the entire HES assembly but the part is around $200 and probably all that has failed is the insulation. If you are mechanically handy you can replace just the wiring harness alone with some teflon or other high-temp wire insulation at low cost and you will most likely end up with a 100% repair, or even better than that since you will have ensured that you won't have a repeat failure. There is a guide that explains the whole process, I'll find it and post it here shortly if no one beats me to it.