IGNORED

Mounting a Garmin 2720

ChrisA

I've decided to buy a Garmin 2720 GPS. I see on their website that they sell a Motorcycle mounting kit (unit bracket, power/audio cable, screws) and they also sell just the power/audio cable seperately.

I'm wondering if the unit bracket they sell is as good as a RAM mount bracket. Basically, whether to buy the Garmin kit or buy the RAM mount and power/audio cable seperately.

Also, with recent stories on GPS theft, is one better than the other for security. Or, is one easier than another to remove the unit and take it with me.

Garmin's motorcycle kit is fine for the price. I have been using one on my 2610 for two years with no problems. If you want a better mount you will be looking at Touratec or something similar for quite a bit more $$.

Actually you will still need something to mount the Garmin Motorcycle kit to the bike. I have used RAM mounts with good results. They make RAM kits that will bolt to the Garmin Kit.

The Garmin kit comes with a tamper resistant torx screw. It isn't going to stop a determined thief, but it is a device that might deter a casual attempt to remove your GPS. The good news is this mount easily allows the GPS to be removed and then securely stored. My setup has been trouble free.

I have the 2730 mounted on my '04 1150 RT. I use the Gamin mount atop a Tech Mount that fitsin the vacant handle bar mirror hole. I like the look a lot.

P5230129.jpg

Clean looking mount. Where did you set up the XM antenna? I am thinking of upgrading the 2610 to the 2730 in a few months to integrate XM into one unit. Are you using an additional amp for the sound?

Clean looking mount. Where did you set up the XM antenna? I am thinking of upgrading the 2610 to the 2730 in a few months to integrate XM into one unit. Are you using an additional amp for the sound?