IGNORED

Unnattractive cornering - a story of attitude

John_Hendriksen

John_Hendriksen

1701900-M.jpg

“You’re cornering sucks," observed a recent riding companion. (Note - recent not late , although at the time, the idea had appeal)

“I know that,” I replied. “I’ve been to a few classes and the instructors say it will take years to set me straight. By the way, have I mentioned your leathers look a little tighter?”

It’s not that I’m a rank amateur. My style, if you will, might be described as “mature”. Worse yet, cornering is my strong suit and I wish I could say it’s getting better. Rather unhappily, the corruptions of my self taught riding have stayed with me, partly because and despite habits disdained by my motorcycling peers, I keep riding. – Slowly and without incident. I’ve even developed an attitude about this.

Some evidence:

While riding Highway 49 in California recently, I was passed by a beautiful red motorcycle of Italian lineage. From the flash of light as it passed by, I could see that everything about the rider was in perfect place, from his blisteringly red helmet, his unscuffed leathers and deeply waxed paint. I’ll bet his socks stayed up under those leathers and that he carried spray wax in his tank bag. As he passed, I thought that I might be able to learn something here. But he rode with an ornamentation I didn’t understand. Much weight shifting and knee pointing, throttle blipping up and down shifts and yet, it was easy to stay with him. Very easy, considering my ugly habits and that surprised me.