IGNORED

FD taper roller bearing preload, how to....

Stan Walker

Stan Walker

Attached please find adjustment procedure out of BMW shop manual for the R1150RT. This discussion will initially be about that procedure.

Things to be aware of in evaluating my comments. I'm NOT a professional wrench. I'm NOT a mechanical engineer. I've only tried this once. I have never seen the actual tools used by BMW in a shop.

Things to notice in the two illustrations (marked in red).

(1) The type of depth gauge shown can be purchased at a Sears store for a few dollars. It will look virtually identical. It is marked with graduations of 0.5 mm.

(2) Since 'a' cannot be directly measured a spacer of known thickness is used. Without that spacer you can use the depth gauge tool twice and arrive at 'a'. First you measure the height of the higher inner ring as shown then measure the depth to the outer surface where the block (2) is resting.

(3) Is a BMW tool that I think is mainly used to center and keep the crown shaft from tilting. Assuming the final drive is off the bike you can with a little care balance the crown gear shaft on the taper roller bearing without this tool. The tool has a cutout to allow 'b' to be measured but without this tool you have direct access and this isn't an issue.

Now here is the rub. The tolerance specified is 0.05 mm. That's 10 times as good as the sears depth gauge. With 3 measurements to take, the total of the errors will swamp the precision needed. Plus that's an odd number of measurements and any tool inaccuracy will not cancel out (it does in the 'a' - 'b' two measurement approach). In short, a better tool or a different approach is needed.

----------------------------

An alternate approach. NOT TRIED. NOT TESTED. NOT GUARANTEED TO WORK!!!!!