IGNORED

Rear wheel wobble

paintman

I have a '00 1100RT and I am new to BMW's. The bike has 14,000 miles (I have put on 700) and I just had the 12,000 mile work up done because I had no records from previous owner. I rode it sort of hard for the first time this weekend getting a agressive in the turns. When I did I got a wobble almost like a washboard surface but only in the rear end. I checked and the wheel isn't loose and I couldn't find anything obvious wrong. The rear suspension adjustment is set right at the dot. The tires are in good shape and as long as I ride casual there is no indication of a problem. Any ideas?

Put it on the center stand and see if the rear is out of round when run at idle in 3rd gear.

An out of round condition in a rear tire will show up particularly well under power when leaned over.

My bet would be the tires. If there is a noticeable flat spot then what you may be feeling is the transition over the ridge.

My does that too. It's a squirmy feeling and very unsettling

Could be a ding in the wheel that isn't noticed until you get some serious lean angle. As the previous poster mentioned, this can be checked while idling in a higher gear on the center stand.

Do you remember if the washboard feeling was more pronounced on one side or the other?

I have a '00 1100RT and I am new to BMW's. The bike has 14,000 miles (I have put on 700) and I just had the 12,000 mile work up done because I had no records from previous owner. I rode it sort of hard for the first time this weekend getting a agressive in the turns. When I did I got a wobble almost like a washboard surface but only in the rear end. I checked and the wheel isn't loose and I couldn't find anything obvious wrong. The rear suspension adjustment is set right at the dot. The tires are in good shape and as long as I ride casual there is no indication of a problem. Any ideas?