IGNORED

Still needs some Industrial Design

Dave P

The rear carrier / seat rails on my 1200RT is quite stylish, but is not real functional when trying to strap down stuff. I want to be able to strap down my tent next week as I travel to the MOA National, so over my lunch hour I fabricated these bungee loops. First shot, needs some Industrial Design. No holes drilled!! Little bit of double stick so they don't slide
Appearance is a bit shameful, cause I'm an Industrial Designer!

IMG_3265.jpeg

IMG_3264.jpeg

• Like 1
3 hours ago, Skywagon said:

I like that Idea a lot.  I strap big waterproof bag on mine and it is always a challenge to tie it down....

I like it so much tomorrow I am going to get a sack of these.

NIBCO 1/2 in. CPVC-CTS Tube Strap (5-Pack) C4724HD12 - The Home Depot

nibco-pipe-hangers-c4724hd12-64_600.jpg.1db34355cbe85b55e24c372e7f522ad2.jpg

I don't know if I would trust those in plastic, especially long term. Not sure how UV resistant they are. As they age they will become brittle. Even when new and fresh, with a load on them bouncing, potential to break.

But I do like the idea, tie downs are in short supply on those bikes.

set of ROK Straps (28" & 60") have always worked well for me.  The smaller pair are always in my glove box for the unexpected purchase that won't fit in pannier or top box.  The large pair have been used mostly with larger loads when traveling. The loop ends cannot come loose and the material has never damaged the finish on the rails.  The length is adjustable and the elastic maintains constant tension, unlike a bungee cord which varies in tension with stretch.

image.png.1c5ebd160283944281e8d5325909f882.png

• Plus 1 2
14 hours ago, Dave P said: