IGNORED

First time two-up milestone, observations

stubble!

(I almost put this in Ride Tales, but I think it fits better in the technique forum...)

Three years ago when I started riding, my wife was dismayed about the whole idea. To her credit, she supported my desires, but she made it clear that she wouldn't be caught dead riding the thing with me.

Since then, here and there, I have quietly described many of the sensations of riding to her, the way smells hit me in a breath and are immediately gone, the small birds that sometimes pace me, twenty feet from my side flying alongside a field. The feeling that approximates flying myself, disconnected from the binding earth as I carve through a series of nice coastal turns.

So when I was researching a new bike, I asked her one evening if I should be shopping for something that can hold a passenger comfortably. It took her a moment, but she said yes.

Fastforward: It's been a couple of months since I brought the RS home, and I've put about 2000 miles on it. I'm beginning to know the bike pretty well. I mentioned I was ready to try a ride with her (I had not ridden two-up before either), and we began shopping for some gear for her. Helmet, gloves, check. She has OK boots, and a decent jacket is proving very hard to find, but she has a passable thick leather jacket to get her by. Pants, well, we're putting that off until she's sure she's committed, because as nice as it is, they won't do her butt any favors. smile.gif