IGNORED

Unable to jump start F700GS

Ks88Mia

Hello all,

Newbie here, I have a 2014 F700GS which I have been unable to ride for some time so its just been sitting.  Admittedly this isn't the first time I've let it sit for a while and had the battery charge die, but I've always been able to connect the bike up to a battery pack and get it started up fairly quickly.

This time is a bit different though, I've connected the battery pack as well as trying jumper cables connected to my car battery  for about 10 minutes (car is off) and the bike doesn't respond at all.  The screen stays off, and the speedometer doesn't react like it usually does when turning the key on.  When I press the starter I get a single audible click but that's it.

Can anyone offer advice of other things someone with a limited knowledge of motorcycle mechanics can check?  The battery is a BMW battery only about 18 months old.  I live in a condo and thought of perhaps disconnecting the battery, buying a trickle charger and letting it charge overnight inside, but logically I would think the battery isn't the issue if the battery pack and jumper cables did not solve the issue.

1 hour ago, Ks88Mia said:

Hello all,

Newbie here, I have a 2014 F700GS which I have been unable to ride for some time so its just been sitting.  Admittedly this isn't the first time I've let it sit for a while and had the battery charge die, but I've always been able to connect the bike up to a battery pack and get it started up fairly quickly.

This time is a bit different though, I've connected the battery pack as well as trying jumper cables connected to my car battery  for about 10 minutes (car is off) and the bike doesn't respond at all.  The screen stays off, and the speedometer doesn't react like it usually does when turning the key on.  When I press the starter I get a single audible click but that's it.