IGNORED

Never Too Old to Learn Better Ways to Navigate Curves

MichiganBob

MichiganBob

I've been riding since 1968 and a little embarrassed to share this but what the heck. I'm not sure why I started doing something different when I go into curves. I started this new thing towards the end of last year's riding season and have continued to perfect it this year with great results. It's counter-intuitive. Instead of leaning into the curve. I lean away from it while counter steering with the handle bars. Nicely carved, smooth, controlled turns. It feels great. So simple.

• Like 1

Why do you think the results of this technique are "great"? I can only envision a bike that is leaned over further, running closer to the edge of the tread, with reduced ground clearance and less ability to tighten your line. 

• Plus 1 1
20 hours ago, MichiganBob said:

I'm really not totally clear why leaning away from the curve is working so well. But it is.

You are more comfortable sitting upright. The problem that Ikraus alluded to is that the bike is leaned over farther than necessary to complete a given turn at a given speed. When we lean the bike our weight, (specifically its location high side or low side) dictates how much lean angle is required. By forcing the bike over you may feel more comfortable but you WILL run out of clearance way sooner than you should. This is fine (and encouraged)for low speed maneuvers but can end badly at road speeds.(Mid corner obstacles or a turn that tightens suddenly)

Moving our weight around is an important control technique for motorcyclists...... this is why road racers hang off the low side of the bike in turns as the MC will corner faster with less lean angle by moving weight to the inside. Riding quickly down a favorite curvy backroad while counterweighting to the high side is not safe.

Maybe a bit of practice in medium speed turns in an open parking lot would make you more comfortable leaning with your bike.

• Like 1