IGNORED

Principles of SportTouring

Twisties

It's been a long time since we had a general thread summarizing riding technique.  We had some discussion at Torrey this weekend, and I feel like it's time for a new  thread.  I'm no expert, but I'll start.  Just my thoughts.  Feel free to add, disagree, agree, subtract, or discuss  :-).

1.  Riding position when in sporty form:

a.  Balls of feet on pegs.

b.  Hands light on the bars

c.  Kiss the mirrors in turns (lean upper body forward and into the turn)

d.  Butt back

e.  Look through the turn.

2.  Line through turns:

a.  On left turns enter near the fog line, apex late, and exit

b.  On right turns enter near the center line, apex late, and exit

3.  Turning technique:

a. SLPR  (Slow, Look, Press, Roll).  Braking is done before entry (except trail braking on non-telelever bikes... personally, I don't trail brake on telelever suspension).  Look all the way through the turn, lean in and press lightly on the bars if needed, after apex roll on the throttle to pull the bike out of the turn.  For sweepers, just maintain throttle through the turn.

b. Be smooth, don't upset the chasis... this implies an appropriate entry speed.

c.  For sporttouring, ride at 70% of your capability (at the time, on the machine you are on).  You must be able to negotiate the unexpected.

d. Entry speed is not just a factor of the turn radius, always consider your sight line.  

4.  Respect:

Slow for towns, respect others, and build community.  No loud exhausts.  A personal pet peeve, probably not well accepted in the community, but no headlight modulators or extremely bright extra lights that would distract, annoy, or blind oncoming traffic.  

5.  Take care of your machine: