IGNORED

Sirius XM Reception

Rinkydink

Up early today and took a quick ride before the storms come tomorrow. I got a free one year subscription to SiriusXM with my bike purchase and activated it last night. It spits, it sputters, drops out for 30 seconds, comes back on for 5 seconds. Talk about crap. The TFT says “Sirius signal lost” or something to that effect. Anyone else experience this?  

• Like 1

It could be a poor location of the antenna ring or loose connection.   If I recall, you have a '22 model, which has a newer front fairing design and maybe a different layout for the harness than my '19.   I have not had any issues that I can relate to anything other than normal reception issues - going into the garage, in the hilly, tree-lined terrain in the twisties.   

You should get it to the dealer to have them address the issue and get it on record.  First world problems, I know, but that was part of the "package" when yo bought the bike, even if it was never a priority.

Also, a thought occurred to me:  go online to SirusXM and try to do a refresh for your unit.   You will need the S/N, which can be found in the settings, about.

TracerBullet

The 22 has the new “mushroom” antenna on the dash. Some people have been talking about it with the 21’s and have relocated the antenna to the rear of the bike

Rinkydink, I have the same problem on my 2022 R1250RT.  From what I have found it's the location of the antenna, it's talked about in other forums.  I have temperately installed an XM antenna I had laying around on the top of my top case, it works perfectly.    I think BMW needs to address this and come up with a permanent fix.  I enjoy XM, it worked great on my 14R1200RT and held off buying the the new RT until the radio's became available.  I have my 600 service scheduled this Thursday.  I'll be talking with my dealer!

2 hours ago, strataj said: