IGNORED

Hello, new to me R1200ST

Rockreid

Hello, let me introduce myself. Age 54 haven’t ridden in a while. Got the urge to jump back 30 years or so and ride again. I wanted something not outrageous and somewhat funky. I settled on a 2005 R1200ST… what could be a funkier bike than that? It was pretty roachy with 91k miles but also really cheap at a dealer online. So I bought it and shipped it to me here in the Panhandle of Florida. I am a former ASE Master tech and was also a tech at an Audi/Porsche dealer back in my early 20’s so I am not afraid of a fixer upper which this bike most certainly was. The bike ran fine but had a few issues. It came with the MSR slip-on.

Here is a list of my improvements/maintenance so far. The bike had no service history on it. Yes, I’m dumb.

-new  oil and filter. Twice. The oil that was in it was fairly nasty. I ran my  first oil change about 50 miles and changed the oil again. I have about 500 miles now on fresh oil and it looks great in the sight glass.

-new trans fluid. The old stuff looked good.

-air filter. I don’t see how this bike was running at all based on the nasty K&N filter that was totally plugged up. I replaced it with a stock BMW filter.

-final drive oil renew.

-pulled the driveshaft and lubed up front and rear splines. It appeared to have had this service done a long time before but it was time to do it again.

-ABS unit (servo) bled all circuit and refreshed all brake fluid. Works fine surprisingly for its age. The bike shipped with all stainless brake and clutch lines.

-the fuel pump electronics (appears to be original) gave out quickly after I took delivery and I replaced it with a new unit. Runs fine now.

-replaced corroded and/or incorrect bolts and screws throughout the bike including the brake calipers. All fasteners torqued to specs.

-new front  tire Mich Road 5. The rear tire (also a Road 5 has about 50% life left)