Tank Bag Maps

Albert

Just wondering if anyone has a favorite as far as maps to insert in the tank bag goes. Do you just use folding road maps or is there some clever alternative. This will be my first bike with a tank bag so I have no experience whatsoever with them. I do notice that on my bag (06 RT factory BMW tank bag) the map sleeve is narrower at the bottom, where the map is inserted, than the top. As far as I can tell this means 1.) use a smaller map than the actual window or b.) wrinkle up the map to stuff it in and then smooth it when inserted. During dress rehearsal option "b" is much harder than is sounds. Thanks for any advice.

pipenslippers

Option 1 Use a GPS,

but if you still like a map and don't want a gps then

Option 2 Use a mapping program on the PC such as Microsoft Autoroute. Print out the maps you need at the scale you need. A4 prints will go into most map pockets, but if they don't with yours you can adjust the scale and fold them a little bit. Also, this means you can write all over them and put them in a route scrapbook when you finish. You don't have to ruin a good map either.

Good luck,

Brian

I've used both folded state paper maps as well as those printed from MapSource software at various magnifications. I prefer the state maps because I believe the legibility is surperior to the MapSource. I typically use the paper maps just for large scale reference and use my GPS for detail.

or...

Go down to your local Wal-Mart and purchase the latest Rand McNally Road Atlas (they’re about five bucks). Yank the staples and pull out the maps for whatever trip you want to take. Fold to fit map pocket. If your trip covers several states, stack the maps in order.

I know it is only applicable to Australia (but there is one for NZ too) but I really like the A5 book called the Australian Motorcycle atlas.

Australian Motorcycle Atlas