IGNORED

Michelin tires, gt vs. No Gt, 4 vs.5 1150 rt

joeb

I do like the Michelin prs. But do I need the Gts . I almost never have a pax. Do the 5s have any advantage over the 4 s ?

I'm no expert, not even a very good rider, but I do like the twisties in the mountains and that twisty thing on the handlebar.  The 5 seem a little better to me, more sure-footed.  The price difference makes it a hard decision.  Never had an issue with either 4's or 5's but I don't mind spending more just because.  Tried the Metzlers, they were good, have run several Dunlops and they were ok and better tire mileage on the rear.  I'm running a R5GT on the rear of my '00 K1200RS (and a Bridgestone T31F-GT on the front because I literally ran out of rubber on the sides of the R5 at START in Maggie Valley several weeks ago).  

On my ST1300 there is an R5 GT on the front and a 'stone T30 on the rear because that 700 lb bike with the big V4 EATS rear tires.  Had to do sumthin.

Kinda depends on your riding style, the load, the road surfaces in your area, wet riding, etc.  

The 5 has cross sipes and the 4 doesn't.  Part of that is "marketing" for sure, but how much??  There must be other differences (compound ??), too.  I thought the PR3's were the best until the 4's came out. 

ANY of them can handle way more than I can dish out.  

My 14RT wethead weights about the same as your R1150RT (I had an 02) the 14RT calls for the GT (heavy weight) tire.  Two years ago I talked with a Michelin rep at the BMW National in Billings.  At that time the Pilot 5  GT wasn't out yet he said I should stay with the Pilot Road 4 GT tire.  He then told me the difference was a stiffer face of the tire not the sidewall as I have always thought.  The side walls of both Pilot Road 4 and Pilot 5 is soft compared with other tires, I change my own so I know this from having to work hard at it and sometimes needing help removing and installing any other tire then Michelin.