IGNORED

R1100RT skip/hesitates on accelerating

Walter Tifental

Walter Tifental

I have a 1996 R1100RT with only 66K on the clock. I’ve been touring around the country off and on for 6 years and the bike is parked for a year at a time in different  storage units around the country. I’m away from my tools and most my repairs are in parking lots or at dealers. 

Here is my problem the bike skips/hesitates (feels like slipping clutch or grease spot on road) on heavy acceleration. Passing on a hill at 3-5K RPM, or punching it out of a curve. The hard part of the diagnoses is it’s inconsistent, i.e I can’t re-creat it. I have: new plugs, new clutch, new fuel filter, always use 90 octane. 

Any idea what I can check or do to figure this out?  

11 minutes ago, Walter Tifental said:

I have a 1996 R1100RT with only 66K on the clock. I’ve been touring around the country off and on for 6 years and the bike is parked for a year at a time in different  storage units around the country. I’m away from my tools and most my repairs are in parking lots or at dealers. 

Here is my problem the bike skips/hesitates (feels like slipping clutch or grease spot on road) on heavy acceleration. Passing on a hill at 3-5K RPM, or punching it out of a curve. The hard part of the diagnoses is it’s inconsistent, i.e I can’t re-creat it. I have: new plugs, new clutch, new fuel filter, always use 90 octane. 

Any idea what I can check or do to figure this out?  

Afternoon   Walter 

It sounds like the transmission might be jumping out then back into gear ( not unheard of on the BMW 1100 5 speeds).

Does it usually only happen in 2nd or 3rd gear?  If so then is it always the same gear? 

Give us some more (or better more specific)  information & we can probably get closer to your problem. 

Walter Tifental