IGNORED

idle is rough/dies (when warm-up) 2002 r1150r BMW

Newbiebmw2021

Newbiebmw2021

Hello Everyone,

I am new to BMW motorcycles. My friend had a 2002 bmw r1150r. I bought it from him and it has this problem where it won't idle when it is hot. I have played with the air screws and the throttle cables. I am waiting on my sync tool to adjust them perfect but where I start it it runs great till its gets hot then it runs richer and wants to die at idle. runs fine at higher then idle rpms. Is this a tps issue?

I am new to BMWs so any help would be amazing.

Thank you in advance. Could it be the 02 sensor?

The airbleed/idle holes in both carbies carbon up and partially or fully block. Both carbies would need full cleaning using a carbie spray.

Afterwards a very good synch/vacuum system/tool is required to calibrate/synch the carbies to each other.

This will not last for that long and would require redoing every 3 ~ 6 months (the synching side of the job).

Unfortunate the dealers do a mediocre job at best.

Do Not attempts this without a decent manual and doing a thorough research. It is not difficult but without getting a good understanding of how to do this, for this specific boxer model, it will end in tears.

You will also need a couple of electric fans to point towards the cylinders to keep the temperature in the normal range while tuning.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1
37 minutes ago, Newbiebmw2021 said:

it runs good till its warm tho.. weird

Afternoon  Newbiebmw2021

Not weird, it is just telling you something, you need to figure out what it is telling you. 

Start by making sure the o2 sensor pig tail is not hanging down on the hot exhaust. If this is OK then get a GS-911 on it to look at the o2 sensor output signal (or just ride it with the o2 sensor disconnected to see if the problem goes away).