IGNORED

New to R1200RT

coopeh1305

coopeh1305

This my first BMW. Recently purchased 2008 with 18,000 miles. Bike seems to be run OK, but I have no experience with hexheads.  I can cruise at any legal or slightly above speeds with minimal vibration.  When I aggressively accelerate there is quite a bit of vibration, but once I maintain the speed there is minimal vibration.  Question:  Is this normal?  Also, the bike seems to prefer to run best at 3,000 rpm and above. Rarely get above 5th gear on country roads with 50 mph limit. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.  Love the bike.

22 hours ago, coopeh1305 said:

This my first BMW. Recently purchased 2008 with 18,000 miles. Bike seems to be run OK, but I have no experience with hexheads.  I can cruise at any legal or slightly above speeds with minimal vibration.  When I aggressively accelerate there is quite a bit of vibration, but once I maintain the speed there is minimal vibration.  Question:  Is this normal?  Also, the bike seems to prefer to run best at 3,000 rpm and above. Rarely get above 5th gear on country roads with 50 mph limit. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.  Love the bike.

Morning   coopeh1305

Difficult to tell you over the internet if you have the normal BMW Boxer Buzz or if you have an outlier that is indicating an issue.

Your 1200 BMW boxer is an inherently balanced engine but there are some operating areas that do produce a notable buzz (usually a higher frequency buzz rather than a lower frequency wheel shake or drive line induced vibration).

Even though your Boxer engine is basically a balanced design (both side pistons go out then back in together) they are large pistons that completely come to a stop then restart in the opposite direction twice per revolution. This is compounded by the fact that the pistons are on their own crankshaft  journals so are not directly across from each other.