IGNORED

First time BMW owner here

Brodiepunker18

Brodiepunker18

Hello all! 

I just wanted to introduce myself and say I’m excited to have my new bike! My name is Eric, by the way! And I live in Wisconsin!

I’m new to BMWs but not to motorcycles. Although I have been interested in them for several years now.

I just got a 1999 R1100RT with a smidge over 61,000 miles. And so far I absolutely love it! 

There isn’t a whole lot I want to do to it, I’ve done the few things I definitely NEEDED to do right away…added Clearwater lights, engine guards, and swapped the taillight and front signals for led. I also had to do my shocks…I know everyone has their preference but I went with Progressive Suspension for both and am extremely happy with my decision!

here are a couple pictures and I look forward to learning more about my bike as I ride it and maintain it!

DD575EF9-370E-4569-B254-144B80967AAE.thumb.jpeg.a4a47ac3303d0b8eeb20a559a3701456.jpegDE112508-5660-4745-957D-16D5E0689215.thumb.jpeg.074245dbc0cf0debe0d8b27c5094696d.jpegE6714D34-BCA0-4AAF-8A43-669CEAC8617F.thumb.jpeg.900fa42417118df713ec2c1c2797a2af.jpeg

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Welcome to the forum, Eric.   As you may know, pictures mean that it happened.  Nice bike.  Be sure to check out the Oilheads forum as there is a lot of info about your bike, among others.  Lot of board members in and around your neck of the woods.

Cheers,

Depending on where you are in Wisconsin, take a look at the Driftless thread, a weekend ride through some great roads in the Prairie du Chien area.

Coming up mid June.

Hello, Brodiepunker18!!

I, too, have a '99 RT in blue.  

Tell me about the Progressive Suspension.  I'm interested.  Have Wilbur shocks on two other Beemers of that era, they are great but pricey.  

Did you get the maintenance records with the bike??  There are several well known and discussed "issues" with these bikes, but likely some have been addressed already by the PO.